Crystal City 5K Fridays: Week 1 – The Huge PR

A week or two ago, I mentioned I signed up for the Crystal City 5K Friday Race Series.

This 5K series runs through my normal running route.

Last night I ran the first race in the series.  The course is my favorite type, very flat.  I’m super familiar with it because it goes along my normal running routes .

Tiffany and I showed up early and picked up our stuff and waited for my BF to make it to the start (he was, of course, running late).  The race started and he still wasn’t there so I told Tiffany to start without me since I knew BF would be there any second.  About 2 minutes after the race started the guy running the start line wouldn’t let me wait anymore, even though the start line was supposed to be open for another 5 minutes.  So I started the race all by myself, there wasn’t another runner in sight.  Thank goodness I wasn’t taking this race too seriously because there was a quick turn after the start and I totally missed it! I had to stop and ask the spectators where the runners went and they pointed me in the right direction.  It was really funny.

Once I was on the right path (I probably lost less than 25 seconds being lost) I started catching up with and passing the walkers and the women with the double strollers, who are in my opinion pretty epic – those strollers are HUGE!  I kept thinking that if I ran fast enough maybe I’d be able to find Tiffany.  I also thought if I ran that fast I’d probably burn out before I could find her.  I just went as hard as I could for the first mile and figure it out after that.  Mile 1 – 9:41 (!! That that was after running off the course!!)

I actually saw Tiffany around the mile one turn around but she was on the other side of the turn.  I figured she was about a minute ahead of me.  I kept going and told myself that if I got tired I could walk at around mile 1.5.  But I got to 1.5 and still felt good and my pace seemed to be evening out to something that was a bit more level for me so I just kept going.  I was actually in a pack of people right now, away from the walkers and big strollers and I even left the juggler in my dust  (For those of you not from the DC area, there is this guy who runs a lot of local races while juggling.  Last night, even though it was windy he had 4 balls going the whole race. It was crazy!) Mile 2 = 10:39

I caught a glimpse of the boyfriend between mile 2 and 3.  He’s super fast, it’s a shame he ended up having to run the course untimed.  I started getting tired but ended up seeing Tiffany not that far ahead of me and tried really hard to pick up the pace to finish near her.  I didn’t quite make it there  (probably because I was not running the shortest distances on the course – I was .11 off at mile 2 and .13 off at mile 2) but it was a great motivator during the race. Mile 3 – 10:12

I finished as fast as I could – though that sharp turn into parking lot right at the end was really awkward.  Last .23 – 2:05 (9:15 pace).  Final time – 32:36. Final distance 3.23 miles. Average Pace  – 10:04/mile!!

This was so much better than I was expecting to do! I thought maybe I could PR by a few seconds but I never expected to knock 1:18 off my time.  My time when I hit 3.1 miles was 31:29, I need to run this course smarter next time because I can easily knock another minute off my PR by not running so much extra distance.  This was such a huge confidence booster the week before the GW 10 Miler.  I’ve been so worried about being too unprepared for this race but now I’m much more hopeful that the race will go well for me.

These races are my favorite. While I don’t have them listed in my race history,  I actually participated in two of these races last year.  Since I had no idea what I was doing and ended up walking a lot of the time it wasn’t actually much like racing.  But this is what inspired me to start doing Couch to 5K.

Good luck to everyone racing this weekend!

24 Comments

Filed under exercise

24 responses to “Crystal City 5K Fridays: Week 1 – The Huge PR

  1. congrats on your huge PR!!! are you running all 5?

    • Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

      I’m signed up for all 5 but I am going to take next week really easy because I have the GW 10 Miler on Sunday. I’ll be trying to beat my time on the other 3 🙂

  2. Congrats on such a grand PR!!! I always seem to stride off the course, glad you were able to get back on track and didn’t loose too much time!

  3. movesnmunchies

    yay congrats on your PR girl!!!

  4. Awesomeeeee run! Juggling runner????

    • Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

      There’s this guy who runs a ton of Pacers runs and he juggles – and still runs really fast. It’s kind of ridiculous and cool, except when it’s windy haha.

      • Have you seen him practice? He runs at the W&L track sometimes and I don’t know if he is doing speed work or if it’s just a safe place to practice juggling and running at the same time. Lol.

  5. Nice job! I was there cheering, I’m sorry I missed you! Good luck at GW!

  6. That’s awesome! What a major PR! You have every reason to be proud. And LOL about missing the first turn!!

    • Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

      Thanks! It’s been a long time since I’ve run a 5K but didn’t expect that much time to come off!

  7. Way to go Carly! Hope the rest of the races in the series are just as fun for you!

  8. amy

    Awesome! A PR even with getting lost on the course – that’s amazing!

    • Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

      I’m so excited to knock the time down by running a shorter distance on the course. An extra .13 is a lot for a 5K!

  9. Wow it sounds like an awesome race Carly!! Congrats on your huge PR!

    Flat courses are by far my favorite, too. I did the 10 miler yesterday and the entire course was completely flat – perfect!

  10. Liz

    Great job Carly! Are you planning on doing this course again this summer?

    • Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

      Probably! It’s so close to home it’s hard to resist! Hopefully it’s not a bazillion degrees in July!

  11. Pingback: Crystal Run 5K Friday: Week 2 –The Rain Storm | CarlyBananas

  12. Pingback: Crystal City 5K Week 4/Jelly Bean Virtual Race Recap | CarlyBananas

  13. Pingback: April Wrap Up | CarlyBananas

Leave a comment