Volunteering at the Cherry Blossom 10 Miler

I love volunteering at races.  My experience may be limited but what I have done I have enjoyed so much that I wish it could be my job.  Sadly, volunteer work doesn’t pay the bills so I do it when I can.

This weekend I volunteered at the Cherry Blossom 10 Miler with Suze and Tiffany.  We worked packet pick up Saturday afternoon and handing out water at the finish area during the race on Sunday.

I love the Cherry Blossoms!

I had a few reasons for deciding to volunteer at Cherry Blossom and run the GW Parkway 10 Miler the week after. First off, I love the Cherry Blossoms. They’re one of my favorite parts of living in DC and this race is happening during the peak bloom.  I know I’ll have a lot of time to check them out and enjoy the Cherry Blossom Festival.  Second, their volunteer system is a fine tuned machine.  And of course, volunteering gives you guaranteed entry to the next year’s race.  Next year happens to be the 100th Anniversary of the Cherry Blossom Festival and I think that will make the lottery even more of a gamble.  I’m already relieved to know I won’t have to bother entering!

We definitely had a long weekend working packet pick up on Saturday and then volunteering the next day during the actual race.  I was supposed to be handing out water at the finish line but when I got there they had another job for me and you won’t believe what it was – handing out bananas!

It's literally Carly Bananas! (please excuse the fact that I'm wearing 3 shirts, jacket, and my volunteer shirt on top of it. It was freezing at 5:30 am!)

So many bananas!

I might have been on bananas overload by the time we were done, but it was a lot of fun.  I really can’t wait to run this race next year!

15 Comments

Filed under exercise

15 responses to “Volunteering at the Cherry Blossom 10 Miler

  1. Wow. Holy banana display. That’d make a lot of smoothies.

  2. haha, so appropriate! I love it.

  3. Valerie

    Thanks for volunteering. It really was a great race. Have fun running it next year. You earned it.

  4. SuzyQ

    I feel like we failed a little bit by not getting the obligatory Carly-n-Suze pic. Le Sigh. Fun times though. 🙂

  5. amy

    Haha – that is a lot of bananas and so appropriate!

    Very smart to volunteer this year and get guaranteed entry for next year. I wouldn’t have ever thought of that.

  6. Bridget

    Thanks for volunteering, especially in the freezing cold! It’s such a great race!

  7. Cheering is too much fun:) Bananassss! you are too cute 🙂

  8. haha I love the banana pictures, they are perfect

  9. Hahaha! That is a serious amount of bananas! 🙂

    Enjoyed chatting with you on #fitblog tonight!! 🙂

  10. Thanks for volunteering! I’ve worked some races, too, and it really is almost as much fun as running, especially when I know people in the race. Bonus points for a beautiful day during the peak cherry blossom viewing time.

    BTW, I loved the new layout at the end of the race. One of the reasons I think the Cherry Blossom is so well-run is that they seem to really pay attention to the post-race comments. Last year, it was almost impossible to get to the bananas. This year, you couldn’t miss them!

    Thanks again. See you next year!

  11. Joy

    Carly!
    That is the cutest picture ever!!! You were so made for that job! And yeah I’m with you with the layers

  12. Pingback: April Wrap Up | CarlyBananas

Leave a Reply

