Crystal Run 5K Friday: Week 2 –The Rain Storm

Last night was the second week of the Crystal Run 5K Friday series.  I was dreading it a little, it was cold and rainy for most of the day.  If I wasn’t heading over and running with Tiffany I probably would have skipped out and stayed in my nice warm apartment.  She felt the same way, so I knew we were going to have to work pretty hard to motivate each other in the yucky rain.

We made it to the race with about 5 minutes to spare before the race start.  We lined up in the middle of the pack and before we knew it we were starting!

Since I didn’t know the status of the GW Parkway Classic on Sunday, I decided to take it pretty easy and try to run the shortest course distance.  That didn’t seem to work out for me, because the first mile and part of the second had a lot of puddles to dodge (if I was coordinated to dodge them… I stepped in a LOT of puddles!).

Other than the puddles, the first two miles of the race were pretty uneventful.  At the last turn around it started POURING (it was raining so hard it needs capital letters).  I was worried my contacts were going to pop out of my eyes.  I’m sure I was a sight, running up Crystal Drive with my eyes half closed so I didn’t lose them.

Tiffany and I stuck together the whole race (even when I had a side stitch and told her to leave me because I was going to die – I was feeling slightly dramatic) and finished at exactly the same time: 33:49 (10:32/mile pace).

Random fact from last week’s race that I forgot to mention: A guy who crossed the finish line about 10 people ahead of me totally tripped and fell face first.  I was completely paranoid this whole race about tripping in wet shoes/sliding on the timing mats at the end of the race.  I’m mentioning this because I found a few pictures of me crossing the finish line, courtesy of the timing company (not the official race photographers), and I am staring at the ground and it’s pretty hilarious.  Pictures below:

cc5k2b04082011

Tiffany looking normal.  Me staring at my feet.

cc5k204082011

Seriously, I’m not going to trip here!

So I crossed the finish line uneventfully.  Another successful race!

Split Time Distance Avg Pace
1 00:10:31 1.00 10:31
2 00:10:58 1.00 10:58
3 00:10:37 1.00 10:37
4 00:01:49 0.18 09:58
Summary 00:33:49 3.19 10:32
I’m totally happy with the pacing here but disappointed that I can’t seem to get much closer to running the course distance.  I still have 3 more weeks to accomplish it. I can’t wait to give it another try next week – hopefully in nicer weather!
Update to my last post re: the GW Parkway Classic: We’re running!!
Good luck and congrats to everyone racing this weekend!
5 Comments

Filed under exercise

5 responses to “Crystal Run 5K Friday: Week 2 –The Rain Storm

  1. Nice job! I was cheering you all on…. from inside 🙂 3.18 is actually not that bad for a 5k, I think its really hard to get any closer than 3.15, especially with a lot of turns like CC5k has.

  2. amy

    You have a huge smile on your face!

  3. hahhaha very cute race pics! I like them! annnnnnd now I wait for your 10 mile race recap!

  4. Hahaha I love the mid-race drama where you asked your friend to leave you behind, so cute. And glad to see you didn’t trip, looking at your feet seemed to work!

  5. Pingback: April Wrap Up | CarlyBananas

Leave a Reply

