Three Things Thursday – The Good, The Bad, The Ugly Edition

1) Virginia Beach Half Marathon:

The Good:  I got my bib number.  I’m #12332! Everything seems so real now! I don’t know if there’s online tracking available but if there is I’ll be sure to make good use of it.

The Bad: I’ve had a knot in my left IT band since Tuesday.  This barely qualifies as “bad” because I’ve been rolling the heck out of it (to the point of bruising my leg) and it’s already so much better.  To be extra safe, I skipped my track workout last night and booked a massage for Monday. I’m really thankful this happened 2.5 weeks prior to the race instead of the week before. Nothing is pulling and I know that an extra rest day or two won’t derail my training so I’m trying not to let this cause any stress.

The Ugly: This is my first half marathon and even though I’m not trying to be, I’m nervous!  I keep having dreams that I’ve been running for a long time and feel so good, but then I look at my watch and realize that either I’ve been running for 7 hours and the end is nowhere in sight  or I’ve went to the finish party before actually finishing the race.

2) Healthy Living Summit:

FINALLY!

The Good:There’s so much good, I don’t even know what to write here! I’m beyond excited to meet up with some of my favorite blog and twitter friends for a weekend of fun in, what is now being dubbed, the City of Bloggerly Love.

The Bad: My packing skills are seriously lacking.

How do I have so much stuff to pack for a 2 day trip?!

The Ugly:

Rain, rain go away

I think the great company will more than make up for the bad weather – and really, I know I’m going to have a great weekend if the weather is the only thing that I’m less than excited about!

3) Shopping

The Good:The Mizuno Wave Alchemy 11’s are out!  I blow through running shoes at an alarming rate and I’m looking forward to adding these into my rotation.

I shall call them fluffy and they will be mine.

The Bad: I have been shopping WAY too much lately. I’ve mentioned that I prefer to wear workout clothes to “regular” clothes but I didn’t realize how much I’m lacking in the regular clothes department until I started packing for HLS.  I’ve been buying a lot of clothes – like cocktail dresses (plural).

The Ugly: Of course I got more workout clothes too… I found a really cute jacket for winter that was on mega sale and I had to snag it.  But it’s totally unnecessary for right now when it’s so hot and humid.

12 Comments

Filed under exercise

12 responses to “Three Things Thursday – The Good, The Bad, The Ugly Edition

  1. A little rain never hurt anyone, right? I figure we’ll be inside most of the time anyway… but I’m packing a pair of jeans instead of my usual summer wardrobe of sundresses. 🙂 See you there!

  2. lowandbhold

    Haha yay! I hope it catches on 🙂 Hope to see you this weekend!

  3. I feel like I’m the only one in the bloggerverse that’s not going to HLS! I would definitely have the same problem with packing for a 2 day trip – I think I’d have about 10 days worth of outfits. And funny that you’re having dreams about the race – I do too sometimes before big races!

    • I’m not going to HLS either, Theresa… it’s all good though. I’m going to get all the updates from everyone on the blogs and on the twitters. 🙂

  4. I hope you have fun this weekend! I always have pre-race anxiety dreams before big races. I have dreamed that I stopped to eat lunch during a marathon or was late to the start or was running a race that seemed like more of an obstacle course. At least none of those things have actually happened – yet! 😉

  5. Lee

    You will definitely be able to do a half marathon!

  6. I was going to run the half in VA Beach! My bf’s cousin lives down there and he and his wife are doing it and we were going to too, but we weren’t sure about our vacation plans and if we would be able to make it down there…but we have worked it out, so we will still be there, just not running!

    Maybe we could find each other and say Hi!? 🙂

  7. Don’t be nervous .. go out there and take everything in and enjoy your FIRST 1/2 marathon! You are going to have a blast 🙂

  8. LOL on your race nightmares–only the running for 7 hours one is really bad. Partying too soon? eh! 😉

  9. Have a great time!! “We” miss you! Can’t wait to hear all about it when you get back (and on the blog!) I had a running nightmare the a coulpe weeks ago, and it was a dream where the race doesn’t actually have an end. You just keep running. Forever. :/

  10. Funny about the pre half marathon dreams! I used to have those too, they’re pretty funny to wake up to!
    Oh la la at the new Mizunos!

  11. Pingback: The Weirdest Pre-Race Dream Ever – Featuring Lil Wayne | CarlyBananas

Leave a Reply

