So I’m Registered For A Lot Of Races…

So I just put together my race schedule for the rest of the year and…. wow.

9/4/11: Virginia Beach Half Marathon

This is my A race. I’ve been training my butt off for this race and I can’t believe it’s here in just over a month.  I’ve felt so good about my training that I’ve stopped obsessing over a time goal, which is pretty huge for me.  I know I’m going to do the best I’m able to do – and if that day it happens that my best is a few minutes slower (or faster) that what I’ve been expecting… well I just don’t care.  Plus, I finally found the elevation for this race and man I’m excited for a nice flat run!

Flat as a pancake

9/24/11: Clarendon Day 5K

Clarendon Day was the first 5K I did last year after finishing Couch to 5K.  This year my goal is to try to break 30 minutes.  I think it might be humanly possibly as long as I stick to the shortest course distance and take that down hill as fast as I can without regard for my quads.  Last year I made it down the hill in under 9 minutes and I know I can do it faster this year.  As long as I have a good first mile I should be left with just enough time to pull it off.

10/15/11: Baltimore Half Marathon

I signed up for Baltimore on a whim after I waited to long to sign up for Hershey and it sold out.  I knew it was a hilly course, Hershey is also fully of hills, but looking at the elevation chart is pretty intimidating.  I see lots of runs up the Rosslyn Hills between now and mid-October. Even though this race will be tougher than VA Beach, I’m hoping it will still be a good time.  It’s close to home and I’ve heard good things from people who have run it before (aside from the hills).

Um... wow.

10/30/11: MCM 10K

I am pretty much running this to kill time while Suze and Laura run the full MCM.  I haven’t run a 10K this year and I’d like to beat my 10K PR from last year.  I’m not sure if I’ll be able to after running Baltimore 2 weeks earlier but either way I plan to have a good time.  I’ll probably run all of 3 times between Baltimore and this race but I love running in DC. I love the beautiful sights.

12/3/11: Hot Chocolate 15K

I saw a lot of bloggers/tweeters talking about this race and I hope everyone decides to sign up because it looks like a lot of fun.  Plus, the registration fee includes a windbreaker and chocolate. Seems like a win to me.

 

Sometimes I look at this and think it seems like a lot of races and sometimes I’m like “Oh, this is going to be so fun.” Usually the latter wins out in my mind.  🙂

What are you training for this fall and winter?

29 Comments

Filed under exercise

29 responses to “So I’m Registered For A Lot Of Races…

  1. My oh my, that IS a lot of races! But I’m the same way – I sign up for a string of races months in advance so I constantly have something to train for. Right now though I only have ONE race lined up…an Olympic Tri in October…so I need to do some searching for other events between now and then!

    • Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

      I got a little hooked on signing up for things this fall. But I think it will be a good way to keep me going through the end of the year. Then I can decide about spring and whether I want to cool it with all of the races 🙂

  2. Liz

    I just registered for that 15K!
    I bet you will be happy in the end that you are doing so many races.

    • Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

      I hope so! After the Hot Chocolate Run I don’t think I’m doing anything big until the Cherry Blossom 10 Miler so there will be a nice break 🙂

  3. lowandbhold

    I’m hoping to run the 15K! I just can’t afford to sign up yet, lol. The Clarendon 5K sounds interesting as well!

  4. I want to run the Virgina Beach so bad but I have signed up for so many races that I can’t afford anymore, plus travel costs.
    I just signed up for the Towpath Marathon and the Detroit Marathon and then Vegas in December. Crazy Marathon lady reporting for duty!

  5. All your races sound like so much fun, I can understand why you decided to sign up. I currently have four definite races (two half, two full) on my horizon and may be adding a third full marathon into the mix. And I’m sure I’ll get dragged into doing other 5k or 10ks along the way. This is what happens when you fall in love with running.

  6. I’m doing the Army 10 Miler and the Hot Chocolate 15K (yay!)

  7. Carly, this looks like such a fun set of races! I am particularly jealous of the Hot Chocolate 15K. Any race with chocolate at the end is good in my books!

    • Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

      I know right! It makes up for the fact that I missed signing up for the Hershey Park Half! Chocolate = perfect motivation!

  8. Theresa Ashley

    Soooo excited for these races!! (Btw – did you see that email from VA Beach RnR on “Potty like a champ”?.. VIP bathroom areas??)

    I might sign up for the Baltimore half.. haven’t decided yet how that fits in the full MCM training. I’ll let you know. 😉

    • Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

      Yes! Suze and I were talking about the potties! That’s ridiculous!
      If you want to run Baltimore with me and Suze… we’ll be taking it easy bc she’s doing MCM too 🙂

  9. Amy

    That’s a great list! I ran part of the Baltimore full course last year as a training run – it’s definitely hilly. The race is well organized though and a lot of fun. Crowd support is awesome. I’m thinking about the MCM 10K too, but sadly I’ll be away for the 15K in December. OK, not that sad because I’ll be in Key West but still 🙂

  10. I’m thinking about the MCM 10k and Hot Chocolate 15k too! I ran Baltimore last year. It’s a good race, as long as you are prepared for the hills (which it sounds like you will be).

    • Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

      That’s awesome! I think the 15K is going to be so fun with all of the people signing up!
      I think my mindset for Baltimore will be more “survive the hills while still having fun” instead of a time goal. I am hoping to just have fun & get a second half in different conditions completed.

  11. My “A” race for the season is the Wilson Bridge Half on 10/2. I’m thinking about signing up for the Clarendon Day 10k, but it’s the weekend before and not sure if that would be a mistake… I have a long run on the schedule, but not sure if the adrenaline/energy of a race is a good idea.

    • Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

      You can always do the 5K and then run your extra miles after it 🙂 Less time at race speed/adrenaline!!

  12. That’s a fun schedule! Don’t worry about the baltimore hills, they’re not as bad as running from Rosslyn to Ballston.

  13. I’m thinking about running the Hot Chocolate 5K or 15K but I haven’t quite made up my mind yet. The tech jacket makes it highly tempting, but I’ll probably wait until after the Army 10 Miler to register. Earlier this week, I signed up for the Rock ‘n’ Roll USA race happening here in DC next spring – no thanks to the peer pressure from elite runner Josh Cox’ abs. I mean, what?

    I’m impressed with your courage to tackle Baltimore, but I know you’ll rock it! Can’t wait for all the race recaps!

    • Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

      Yea, the jacket (and the chocolate) made pushed me into making the 15K happen.
      I want to do the RNR USA but I’m worried I’ll be a little burnt out in March. I might want to take a little training break in December & January and just fun run for awhile… and then pick back up for the Cherry Blossom 10 Miler in April. We’ll see. 🙂 I love races so maybe I’ll change my mind!

  14. That is a lot of races but all sounds so fun!!! makes me want to get my calendar out and find more to sign up for myself. 🙂

    PS – That flat course looks divine. You’re going to kill it!!!

    PPS – I pray there is a hot cocoa run near me. How fun!

  15. Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

    Thanks so much Tina! I’m really excited for it. I’m hoping it goes well!!
    And I hope they add a chocolate run near you. They seem to be expanding a lot! 🙂

  16. Pingback: August Training Recap and Looking Ahead to September | CarlyBananas

Leave a Reply

