Fun While Run Commuting

My run commute was awesome this morning! I overslept a bit because I set my alarm like I normally do for my long run on Sunday – except today isn’t Sunday. Duh.  I left the house at around 6:40 and got to Arlington Cemetery by 7. I stretched out and took off towards the Lincoln Memorial.  I tried to get a picture but the sunlight was so bright that it didn’t quite work out.

I ran across the bridge into DC and of course got confused about which way to go to get around the traffic circle in front of the Lincoln Memorial. I picked left, but I should have picked right.  There was no cross walk but thankfully traffic wasn’t too bad.  I zipped over onto the National Mall, ran past the Vietnam Memorial and made my way up to the Washington Monument where I stopped for my first quick picture break.

View from the base of the Washington Monument looking back to the Lincoln Memorial

View from the base of the Washington Monument to the Capitol

In case you were wondering the Washington Monument is REALLY tall

I headed over onto Madison and ran up towards the Capitol.  I finally had a little shade and just got into an awesome groove.  I stopped at about 3rd Street, took some pictures of the Capitol and back across the Mall:

Much closer to the Capitol

Looking back to where I was at the Monument.

And then turned and ran up Pennsylvania Avenue.  At about 7th Street I realized I was running on a diagonal so I wasn’t going to be at 5 miles if I turned onto 14th Street to go to my office so I ran over to the White House to wave a the Obama family and take some more pictures:

Good morning to the Obamas!

Super sweaty and red faced outside the White House

I finished up by running over to Farragut West, looping around the park and then heading to my office.  It ended up being about 5.15 miles and I know I negative split the crap out of it because I felt amazing at the end and my pace was quicker – but of course I forgot to turn autolap back on my Garmin after Monday’s track workout so I have one gigantic lap with no mile splits until I log into Garmin Connect tonight.  Oh well.  I finished in just about an hour.

Everything went really well and easily.  It was a great start to the day. I’m extremely happy with the new shoes and really glad I just walked on Wednesday because my legs feel really fresh.

I’m also at the point where five miles is starting to feel really easy. I never thought I’d say that but I felt amazing the whole time today (well after I got out of direct sunlight/heat).  I’m also at a point where it feels so weird to NOT be running on the weekend.  It’s only 3 weeks into training for VA beach and I’m so used to it.

I hope everyone has a great weekend! I’ll be eating my face off and celebrating BF’s birthday. What are your weekend plans?

14 Comments

Filed under exercise

14 responses to “Fun While Run Commuting

  1. Beautiful city to run in!! I love DC. Keep up the good work!

  2. That is such a cool way to commute!!! 🙂 Looks like you had fun!! Such pretty pictures 🙂

  3. Amazing running views! I wish my office had a shower so I could run to work!

  4. lowandbhold

    You’re awesome! I’m hoping to try that next time I’m training for something, although I’m running away from DC so it won’t be as cool.

  5. That is so great! I wish I could run to work too 🙂

  6. You’re a rockstar! Way to be all energetic in the AM. I’m zorbing and getting in a 10-mile run this weekend. Happy bday to BF!

    • Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

      I’m literally dying from exhaustion and hunger now at 3:30. I’m going to need to figure out how to balance this better next time lol

  7. Weekend plans…. start eating solid foods again, volunteer at a bike parade, and spend time at the pool!!

  8. This sounds like a great way to start your Friday! I’m glad it worked out so well for you. I keep telling myself I will try it soon. 🙂

    Hope you have a great weekend with your BF!

  9. Wow – such a pretty commute/running route! I know I’m spoiled with the palm trees and water down here but I’ve always been amazed by all of the monuments in DC – I think Diggity and I need to plan a trip soon!

    And I hereby vow to never ever run to work – 18 miles in the morning just doesn’t sound like fun to me. Hell, who am I kidding…even 3 miles before work doesn’t excite me! I’m definitely more of an evening runner (except on weekends).

    Have fun with your BF!

  10. Awesome commute Carly! I love running on the Mall too, guess we’re both pretty lucky. I didn’t realize that we only work 2 blocks from each other, how cool is that!

  11. How fun! What a perfect distance, not to mention awesome scenery. Do you have a shower at your office?

    • Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

      They just put a tiny gym/locker room in my office. I would never be able to run in if we didn’t have one. I sweat like a crazy person!!

  12. Pingback: Rock & Roll VA Beach Training: Week 3 Recap | CarlyBananas

Leave a Reply

