1 Mile PR and a New Pair of Running Shoes

Did you ever get the sudden feeling that your running shoes are trashed beyond belief and you can’t possibly run another step in them?  I should have had the vague feeling a month ago but for some reason I didn’t notice until yesterday when I literally couldn’t run another step after my mile trial workout at the track.

This is embarrassing:

You might need new shoes when your current pair has no more tread.

From the back.

Um… yea.  At least I don’t heel strike?  I also got a pair of insoles that should help with some of the problem with my right foot rolling in so hard.

These would have been particularly useful last night at the track.  We had a short workout but it was tough – a quick warm up, 1 mile at our hardest effort and then 1 mile of cool down.  I did a quick two laps at around a 10 minute pace and then braced myself for my mile.  We took off and I stayed in the second lane because I didn’t want to get in the way of the really fast  folks.  I made it through the first 800 in 4:04 and finished as Zac called out 8:30 (so clearly the second half of my mile was a bit slower than the first half).  I was pretty happy because that was a 29 second mile PR – my previous fastest was at Clarendon Day and was assisted by a ginormous downhill. I stretched out my calves because they were screaming and set off to run a cool down mile.  I made it through a little more than a lap and my legs were just so sore that I stopped to walk.  I walked in the rest of that 400 and decided I was not going to run another step until I got a new pair of shoes.

I was still pretty happy when I got home.  I decided I’d track down a pair of my beloved Mizuno Wave Alchemy 10’s at one of the local Pacers stores the next day.  I didn’t even look at my Garmin until BF asked how the workout went and I realized I ran my mile faster than I thought.  That’s right – just like last week, 4 laps around a track in the middle does not quite = 1 mile.  I actually ran my mile in 7:47 because I ran 1.11 miles.  Um wowza.  That was a heck of a mile for me – a full minute and 12 second mile PR.  CRAZY.

To celebrate I’m taking a full on rest day.  I want my legs to feel nice and fresh tomorrow.  If they don’t feel 100% then I’ll cross train to make sure I’ll be ready for my run commute on Friday.  Flexibility baby.

15 Comments

Filed under exercise

15 responses to “1 Mile PR and a New Pair of Running Shoes

  1. HOLY CRAP!!! awesome PR.. WAY TO GO!! u cut off so much time 🙂

  2. NICE WORK! I don’t remember the last time I timed myself on just a mile. Probably… ok, definitely wouldn’t PR right now. 😉

    • Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

      It’s definitely been almost a year for me! I kind of don’t want to do another trial because it will be hard to beat that time!

  3. Way to shave off a ton of time! I’m in awe of your amazing run, I hope that one day I can keep up!

    • Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

      I think it might have been a fluke haha. I definitely couldn’t keep that up for even one more step! 🙂

  4. Look at you Little Miss Speedy! Congrats on that super fast 1.11!!
    And yes – I totally understand the “can’t go one more step” feeling. That happens to me every.single.time I need new shoes! One day I’m Ok and then the next BAM, I need new shoes STAT!

    • Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

      That’s how I felt! I just couldn’t move until I got new ones. And let me tell you… the guy at the store was shocked I made it to that last step. Those shoes were d.e.a.d.!

  5. Congrats on the mile PR! That’s awesome! And I’m glad you found some new shoes, I’m sure you legs will appreciate it. I tend to obsessively order pairs online when I find sales so I just started in a new pair and have another pair waiting.

  6. Congrats on a PR lady!! You rock 🙂

    p.s. you should try some saucony’s next time you need new shoes 😉

  7. Pingback: Rock & Roll VA Beach Training: Week 3 Recap | CarlyBananas

  8. Pingback: The Most Valuable Lessons Learned While Training for My First Half Marathon | CarlyBananas

  9. Pingback: The Most Valuable Lessons Learned While Training for My First Half Marathon | CarlyBananas

Leave a Reply

