Change of Plans: A Day to Run Commute

I’ve tried to make “flexibility” my half marathon training philosophy.  I’ve been covering the recommended miles but not necessarily on the same days and not necessarily as prescribed.  This weekend, it’s the boyfriend’s birthday and I want everything we do to be about him – not about the fact that I have to wake up at 6:00 on Sunday for a run.

Who doesn't want a birthday cupcake served by a kitten?

Luckily, I’m still at the point in my training where my long run is 5-6 miles.  I’ve seen a lot of people talking about how they can bike commute to work but I wanted to try running.  I can’t quite figure out how to do it from my apartment but after this weekend’s run I know how to get into DC if I Metro to Arlington Cemetery.  Score.

So Friday morning, I’ll plan to get to Arlington Cemetery at 6:45, run across the bridge into DC (my very favorite view of DC is coming across the bridge and looking at the Lincoln), run down the National Mall to the Capitol and then run up to my office around McPherson Square.

Morning exercise and a great view of DC

My office has a brand new tiny little gym in it with nice enough showers.  If I bring Friday’s work clothes, a hair dryer and some shower supplies in on Thursday all I’ll need to do is put on my running clothes and go Friday morning.

If it goes well maybe it can become part of my routine when I have to start adding in an extra 2-3 mile easy run on Fridays in late July/August.  If I run from Arlington Cemetery right to my office it’s about 2.2 miles.

I’m actually a little excited to try it out!

12 Comments

Filed under exercise

12 responses to “Change of Plans: A Day to Run Commute

  1. lowandbhold

    This is genius! My work is 6.6 miles from my apartment and I think there’s a running trail leading there. I haven’t been running lately so it would be a while before I could try, but I just may have to do it someday. Can’t wait to hear how it goes!

  2. If you live in/around Crystal City (I think you do) you can hop on the Mt Vernon trail by the CC water park. Then cross at the 14th street bridge (right before the construction on the trail). I’ve never run to work, but I used to run home every week. Its fun!

  3. nice! I LOVE THE RUN COMMUTE! i hope it is a gorgeous morning!

  4. Oooh good luck. I hope it works out for you!

  5. I am so jealous of people who can run in the morning or run to work. It has to be awesome! We do not have a shower or gym at work so I would be sweaty stinky all day. Good luck with the run commute, running in the morning always puts me in a good mood for the rest of the day so I hope it does the same for you!

  6. Liz

    I love running to and from work! I am thinking of running home today, so I brought my camelback (without the water pouch) to carry my stuff home with. You’ll have great sites on that route!

  7. amy

    This is great! I love the run commute and you’re already ahead of most people by thinking about what you need to bring in (or even the fact that you need to bring it).

    Have fun!

  8. This is brilliant! Way to multitask commuting and training! I love how you’re planning ahead to make your workouts happen…and hope your boyfriend is appreciative of all your effort!

  9. I’ve done the run home but haven’t tried out the run to work. I recently figured out the shower situation at my office, so I’m hoping to run into work sometime soon!

  10. Pingback: 1 Mile PR and a New Pair of Running Shoes | CarlyBananas

  11. Pingback: Fun While Run Commuting | CarlyBananas

  12. Pingback: Rock & Roll VA Beach Training: Week 3 Recap | CarlyBananas

Leave a Reply

