Kicking Butt and Taking Names on the Hills

Yesterday I posted about my planned hill workout, how it scared the bejeezus out of me, and why running hills is an important workout despite the fear they induce.

The Custis Trail features hills...followed by more hills.

I’m proud to say that last night I kicked those hills right in the booty and had an awesome run. We started with a lap around the block holding W&L High School. That is one big school! Then we headed over to the Custis Trail for some 1.5 mile hill repeats.

Coach Zac wanted the hills run at a pace that was too fast to hold conversation. And he wanted us to negative split the 2 segments.  Ouch.  I was in a horrible mood so I was up for the challenge.  And it was a challenge.

Let’s look a little more closely at the hills:

I think the big spikes on the blue speed line are when I went under underpasses...

The elevation profiles on Daily Mile are way less dramatic than Garmin Connect

Suze and I took off and, with a lot of cursing but no conversation, made it through through the first 1.5 mile segment in 16:04, a 10:34 pace.  Um, what the heccccccck? That is really fast for me on flat terrain and I forgot my iPod so I was running without music which I thought was essential to running quickly – maybe not.

We turned around to go back, aiming for anything faster than 16:04.  I just got into a groove and spaced out.  I had a Jason DeRulo song on repeat in my head. Actually I had the first  two lines of the song in my head since I’d only heard it once in the car on the way… and the first line was, of course, “Jason DeRulooooo”. But I digress… about half a mile in I looked around and realized I was by myself.  I apparently let Suze and our other running buddy get behind me and since the trail was so curvy I couldn’t see where they were…so I just kept going.  The quicker I ran, the quicker I’d be done.  I pushed through and even though I felt like I ran out of gas completely about .4 miles before the end, I managed to finish the second segment in 15:57.  A 6 second improvement with a 10:31 pace!

I was so happy when I finished this.  Seriously I think I did a little dance. Suze finished right behind me but she’s training for a marathon (I’m training for a half) so she ran another lap around the school for cool down.  I just shook my legs out, walked over to where she’d finish and stretched.  I only needed to run 3 miles and I did 3.89 very quickly. I definitely consider the first temp/hill run of the VA Beach training plan a huge success.

Have you ever used a crappy day as motivation to do better on a run or workout?

13 Comments

Filed under exercise

13 responses to “Kicking Butt and Taking Names on the Hills

  1. WOO HOO – girl you are AWESOME and inspiring!

    • Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

      Aww thank you! I am pretty proud of it! And honestly still really surprised that it went so well 🙂

  2. Awesome!! Intervals, hill repeats and tempo all make the miles go by SO fast!

    • Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

      It really did. I was shocked how quickly it was finished. If I was racing I would have cut like 5 minutes of my 4 Miler PR!

  3. Liz

    I’ve definitely used anger to power me through a workout.
    Great job killing those hills!

  4. amy

    Yeah! Workouts like this are such a huge confidence booster!

  5. That is absolutely awesome, go you!

  6. That’s how I feel about hills, just go quicker so they’ll be done quicker!

  7. I used a crappy day to fuel my runs alot. I probably shouldn’t have so many crappy days but at least it is helping my running

  8. Pingback: Rock & Roll VA Beach Training: Week 2 Recap | CarlyBananas

Leave a Reply

