Rock & Roll VA Beach Training: Week 1 Recap

Last week was my first “official week” of training for the Rock & Roll Virginia Beach Half Marathon.  If the next 12 weeks are anything like this first week, I’ll be in heaven (note: yes, I set up a 13 week training plan because I think it’s a luckier number than 12 or 14. I might have got that idea from Taylor Swift… but hey, it works for her!)

Recap:

Great kick off to training!

As you can see from the snapshot of the plan above, the days for my workouts got shifted around a little bit from the extreme heat wave that rocked DC but the miles were covered so I’m happy about that.  I think the key to me finishing this training cycle happy and healthy will be adapting.

I’m pretty happy with my commitment to cross training and I hope I can keep it up as the weeks go on.  Suze and I checked out a yoga class out our gym yesterday morning and were really impressed.  The instructor gave great instruction.  It was a little bit more stretchy than balancy but it was a great class and I think it contributed to the success of today’s long run (which felt amazing).  I felt much stronger in class, particularly in my arms, than I did when I was taking yoga classes this winter and I have a feeling it’s because I have been rocking the Nike Training Club app so frequently.  I’m kind of obsessed with it.

This app will kick your booty

Today’s long run was a crazy awesome success for me.  Despite starting at 7 am (which meant waking up at 6 am), I had one of those runs where everything clicked perfectly.  I paced really well, breathed fine, made a new running buddy, and felt like I could have kept going after I was done. My heart rate was up a little (closer to a lot) but it didn’t bother me at all.  I think it’s because it’s the first run I’ve had in 2 months without medicine  artificially keeping it lower.

And we saw baby geese!!! This picture is for you, Steena! Bahahaha!

Look at those little babies!! Aww!

Now I just need to find a way to avoid stopping for fast food breakfast every Sunday morning.  I was so hungry after today’s run and had to stop and grab a McMuffin.  I suppose I could have worse vices than crappy breakfast sandwiches 🙂

Red faced sweaty happiness...

How was your weekend? Any fun workouts?

13 Comments

Filed under exercise

13 responses to “Rock & Roll VA Beach Training: Week 1 Recap

  1. hahahaha 🙂 Thanks of thinking of me during your encounter with Geese!

    • Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

      I seriously stopped running when I saw the goose and was like “Oh no. That goose is going to be mean!” But it was distracted by its babies. 🙂

  2. All in all there are worse breakfasts than an Egg McMuffin. Do you eat before your run? Can you have something healthy ready when you’re done so you are tempted?

    • Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

      I do eat before. I had half a bagel with peanut butter. I don’t want to give myself an upset stomach or risk having to use the bathroom while running (because I don’t always pass them) so I don’t want to eat too much. I think I may need to just pre-prepare breakfast. Or make BF wake up early to cook for me haha.

  3. Maybe pack a peanut butter and jelly sandwich for after? Or a granola bar. Just something to tide you over a bit!

    • Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

      Oh, leaving something in my car is a really smart idea. I’m kind of embarrassed that I didn’t think of it haha.

  4. Yayyyyy for your upcoming half!!! You are so going to ROCK IT!!! You’re run sounds like it was pretty perfect, what a great feeling! It’s been SUPER hot here in Charlotte, too! I found that when I trained for my marathon, I just made sure I got my mileage in (unless my body wasn’t feelin’ up to it) and I kinda did my own thing during the week!

    • Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

      I hope so! I’m kind of excited to get to the longer distance runs – mostly because I have friends training for marathons and feel like a slacker with my mileage haha. I’m so amazed by all of you who run full marathons! You’re awesome 🙂

  5. I’m really happy for you about your great run!
    The most favorite part EVER was your mention of Taylor Swift. Ahhh! I LOVE her!
    Definitely a perfect idea to make it 13 weeks in her honor. 🙂

    • Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

      This is one of my favorite blog comments ever. I’m so glad someone a) Got the 13 thing and b) Didn’t think I was insane for it.
      😀

  6. I love the NTC app, the Butt Blaster makes me so for days, it is awesome

    • Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

      I’ve got a knot in my actual butt cheek for the first time in my life after using the Butt Blaster. It was ridiculous haha.

  7. I love your blog! Its awesome that you are using the NTC app, I have been using it too, its fabulous! Just wanted to give you a heads up, there is a contest going on right now to have your own drill end up on the NTC app. Here’s the link:

    http://www.facebook.com/nikewomen?sk=app_258042467557596

    -Gillian

Leave a Reply

