Three Things Thursday: Super Mega Awesome Day Edition

Today is shaping up to be an awesome day in a pretty big way!

Thanks winking puppy! I think I will!

Super Mega Awesome Thing 1: I had a doctor’s appointment today and I’m officially done taking my heart medicine!  The palpitations that were still bothering me a bit last month are pretty much gone – only bothering me about once a week – so there’s no need to continue with the medicine.  The doctor said it may be another month or two before they’re gone completely but things should be feeling much better from here on out.  Talk about a relief!  I also get to cut my thyroid medicine in half again and I don’t have to have blood drawn again until August.  While the doctor was super late (I used the table for stretching and yoga while I waited haha), I totally forgave her after she gave me happy news.

Super Mega Awesome Thing 2: I took today off from work since I didn’t know how long my doctor’s appointment was going to last.  It was done relatively quickly so I have the whole day to hang out. Yay!  I went right from the appointment to the gym and got in a good treadmill workout. I normally hate the treadmill but today I decided to throw in some intervals to keep from getting too bored.  I did a quick warm up, turned on the View, and then did a slow quarter mile – increasing the treadmill speed by .2 every quarter mile for a full mile.  When I reached my top speed, I did an extra lap  and then decreased my speed by .2 every quarter mile for another full mile.  Including a warm up and cool down I ended up covering 2.5 miles and it felt like it went by really quickly.  Maybe it was because Neil Patrick Harris was on the View. He’s so funny.

I followed up the treadmill workout with some lifting.  This is huge for me since I’m terrified of lifting at the gym.  It turns out absolutely no one works out at 11:15 am on a Thursday so I had a great time by myself in the weight room – though I completely stuck to the machines.  I did arms and back since I’ve been doing a lot of legs at home.  I’m so excited that I got this workout in – especially since I was supposed to do some lifting with Katie this morning and I slept through my alarm after a migraine kept  me up most of the night.  Boo for that but the workout is done and I feel pretty great!

Super Mega Awesome Thing 3:  I’m going to the Healthy Living Summit in August!

I might have skipped a track workout to make sure I got a ticket for this event!

I’ll be rooming with the delightfully super mega awesome Allison from Happy Tales Blog, Jess from In My Healthy Opinion, and Jenny from Feet of Fancy.  I’m beyond excited to meet these lovely ladies.  We’re already putting together plans to dance like flailing octopi (octopuses??)  so if you’re in the Philly area make sure you check us out! 🙂

I hope everyone is having a great Thursday and is staying cool.  The current “feels like” temperature in DC is 106. Holy wowza, this is going to be one hot summer!

8 Comments

Filed under exercise

8 responses to “Three Things Thursday: Super Mega Awesome Day Edition

  1. Yay for your super awesome day!!! Having random days off work is the best feeling! So nice to have a chance to relax and recharge.

    I REALLY wanted to go to HLS this year but I am going to Minneapolis the weekend AFTER and can’t afford/take time off work for two big trips out east. BUT next year I’m GOING! 🙂

  2. I’m so glad your heart is doing better!! That is definitely a super mega awesome thing! 🙂

    SO excited for HLS with you and the rest of our roomies!! It’s going to be a BLAST!!!

  3. Good for you for being able to take your medications down a notch! That is always such a relief 🙂 I actually just scheduled a few Dr’s appot myself today — skin check w/ my derma and my annual physical. Gettin’ lotsa stuff DONE today!

    Oh, and HLS is going to be AWESOMESAUCE being roomies with you guys!!!! Swhhahaaaa I’m so excited! The countdown is ON!

  4. amy

    I love days like this! Congrats on the doctor stuff!

  5. Yay, that is a great day! Congrats on everything!

  6. You know I’m excited for you to come to HLS! It will be great to meet!!!

    Glad you had such a great day. I love when I have unexpected extra free time like that. It really does make me happy too. 🙂

  7. So glad to hear that you had such a great day! I’m sure it must be a huge relief to be off the heart medicine and back to running regularly. 🙂

  8. Pingback: Rock & Roll VA Beach Training: Week 1 Recap | CarlyBananas

Leave a Reply

