Hey, It’s June!

I’ve been saying it all week: I can’t believe it’s June! It seems like DC has completely skipped spring and moved into full on summer.  I’m pretty sure we’ve already had what qualifies as a heatwave!

Get your SweatyBands ready!

I feel like June is going to be a great month.  In just this first week, lots of exciting things have happened.

I started running with the Pacers Distance Training group and I love it.  I think it’s going to be a great way for me to stay on track for my R&R Virginia Beach training. I also signed up for a premium Runners World Smart Coach account so I can make sure I’m pacing myself properly on long/easy runs, which I feel is an exceptional use of $29.00.

I’ve also been getting better at cross training.  I actually started making sure I was getting in more exercise than just running  during the last week in May. I’ve been biking at the gym (steep hills), using the stair climber for miles at a time (ok just over 1 mile but that’s a lot of stairs!), doing some ab work, and trying out the Nike Training Club App.

Booty kicking available 24/7

This app is CRAZY. It’s a series of high intensity interval training (HIIT) moves – from beginner to advanced.  Some series don’t require anything but your body weight and some require dumbbells or a medicine ball.  Last night I did two thirds of a body weight beginner workout and I can barely move my legs today.  What did the work out consist of?

2 minute jog, 1 minute back pedal, 2 minutes straight leg kicks, 1 minute modified pushups, 30 seconds plank, 1 minute burpee, 2 minutes side lunge, 30 seconds jump forward/backwards, 1 minute plank, 2 minutes squats, 1 minute hip lifts, 1 minute opposite arm leg extensions, 30 seconds cross back lunge, 30 seconds lateral hops, 30 seconds alternating step back lunges, 1 min sumo squats.

And there was still about 10 minutes of moves to go in the segment (in all fairness I did an ab workout before this because I didn’t realize how hard it was going to be). I’m psyched to add this little program to my workout routine. I’m hoping it can be something that I do in the morning – since the workouts don’t require a gym I can do them in my living room for 30-45 min before work. Score!

Tomorrow, Suze, Theresa, Theresa’s friend Maryll & I will be running the North Face Endurance Challenge Marathon Relay (go Team Heart Breakers!).  We’re all running about 6.5 miles so I think it will be a pretty good time.  I’m really happy the weather has cooled down to the upper 70’s/low 80’s from last weeks temperatures that were near 100.

What are your plans for the weekend? Did anyone else notice this little 4 day week seemed extra long?

7 Comments

Filed under exercise

7 responses to “Hey, It’s June!

  1. That’s so good, I need to start looking into cross training. I’m just… lazy. Happy weekend!

  2. I love the Nike Training app. So nice to get your butt kicked no matter where you are at or what time of day it is.

  3. that app sounds AESOME!! andhard core!! have fun tmrw!!!

  4. I’m so glad you’ve discovered a good group to train with! It will make training so much more fun!

    Good luck tomorrow! I hope to see you there!

    • Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

      I hope so too! I’m running second for our team so I should be done by around 1pm – which may be around when you finish the 50K. I’ll keep my eyes out for you. I hope it goes really well for you Beth! Enjoy yourself 🙂

  5. I was screwed up all week – on Wednesday I thought it was THURSDAY, when being a 4 day week I should have thought Tuesday? weird. TGIF, indeed. 🙂

    have an AWESOME race tomorrow!! ❤

Leave a Reply

