Feeling the Cross Training Burn

Last night I visited my gym for the first time in an embarrassingly long time.  Since I’d run 4 out of the previous 5 days I decided to take a step away from my go-to gym workout, the treadmill, and do some cross training.

I hit up the recumbent bike first.  20 minutes on random hills at difficulty 13.  It felt a little bit like this:

Maybe I'm a little dramatic.

I managed to bike a 10K in that 20 minutes so I was pretty happy with myself.  I have no idea if 18.3 mph is fast but it was HARD and my legs felt it as soon as I was done.

Then I hopped onto this monster for 15 minutes and continued the burn:

The stairs to nowhere keep moving

At the gym I have a bad habit of paying attention to what the person next to me is doing.  I noticed the lady next to me had been on the stairs for 30 minutes already and I thought it would be fun to see how long it would take me to get to the same point.  Just about 14 minutes later, I climbed a mile of stairs and felt pretty darn good about myself even though my butt was super tired and ready to go home.

I had every intention of doing some weights after this but when I went to do some stretching I got so comfy and sleepy on the mat that I decided getting a burrito would be a better use of the next 15 minutes of my life.  It was.

I have a pretty light workout schedule coming up over the weekend. I want to do some yoga tomorrow and take a short run on Sunday.  Monday probably be a rest day.  I hope everyone has a great Memorial Day weekend!

4 Comments

Filed under exercise

4 responses to “Feeling the Cross Training Burn

  1. When the weather is warm, I don’t get as much cross training either. It’s just so nice to be outdoors running! 🙂

    Hope you have a wonderful weekend! 🙂

  2. I hate that stair machine. When I used to go to the gym that was my nemesis. Rawr.

  3. Yay for some good cross-training!

  4. amy

    Haha…burrito was a better use of the next 15 min of my life. Sometimes that is so true.

Leave a Reply

