Running and Breathing… at the Same Time

Back to the grind. I’ve returned to exercise in a big way. I love having a plan to follow and while the “plan” I posted last Friday didn’t have much rhyme or reason to it, it was nice to have a guide to follow. Work has been kicking my butt lately and if I had to plan anything out after a long day in the office I’d probably go home, lay on the couch and eat ice cream (which sounds pretty good right about now).

  • Saturday 5/21: 2 miles to loosen my legs back up and remember how to breathe. Done!
  • Sunday 5/22: WARRIOR DASH with Suze! (Recap & Pictures)
  • Monday 5/23: Rest/Sports Massage (Note to self: Don’t purchase a massage on Groupon. The negative reviews will scare you away from ever using it).
  • Tuesday 5/24: Group trail run with the NorthFace Endurance Marathon Relay Group Done!
  • Wednesday 5/25: Test out the Pacers distance run (eeep. Nervous!) Done!
  • Thursday 5/26: Cross train: Bike, Stairs, Weights Will be headed out to do in 2 hours.
  • Friday 5/27: Rest
  • Saturday 5/28: Yoga

I’ve exercised 4 out of the last 5 days (5 out of the last 6 if you’re reading this after 6:00 pm) and have been sleeping so much better.

Sleepy puppy spends too much time getting his workout on.

I haven’t been logging a ton of miles but every mile has felt good.  It’s such a relief to finally see a noticeable difference in my heart rate and breathing.  On Tuesday night, I went out for a run with my North Face Endurance Challenge teammates and we kept it conversational, something I was never able to do before! We did a muddy lap around Roosevelt Island and then a few miles on the Mount Vernon Trail, in a great area where it’s nice and flat along the water.  It was so much fun.  I was shocked when I looked at my Garmin data and saw that my average HR was 161 (new readers, that’s super duper low for me!).

Last night, I joined Suze for the Pacers Distance Training Program speed/hill work at the Iwo Jima Memorial.  First of all, let me just say that the views in DC never get old.

This memorial is HUGE. I never realized how big it was until I got right up next to it last night!

This isn't bad scenery to admire as you huff and puff up hills

(Source)

The running group was great. They were all extremely nice people and the workout was hard but not so much that wasn’t fun.  I did have some problems with breathing/my heart rate was I tried to do speed work but I guess for short bursts it’s not so bad.  Weirdly, I really enjoyed the hill repeats – though my butt is super tired today.

It sounds really run-geeky but I’m looking forward to starting my half marathon training program in June. I need some workout structure in my life!

Do you work out better with a plan or are you able to self motivate?

11 Comments

Filed under exercise

11 responses to “Running and Breathing… at the Same Time

  1. I am not a good self-motivator, so I need awesome workout buddies (hello Carly, Theresa, and Pacers groups!) and structure! Marathon training – here I come! 🙂

  2. What race are you running this fall? I am trying to decide what I want to do…

    • Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

      I’m doing the Rock n Roll VA Beach Half on 9/4 and I’m thinking about maybe doing the Hershey Half on 10/16. VA Beach is supposed to be a fun, big and most importantly flat race. Hershey looks kind of hilly but it’s small and you get to run through a town that smells like chocolate (win). I’ll probably wait until I see how VA beach training starts out before I commit to a second race though. 🙂 Oh, there’s also the Wilson Bridge Half Marathon that’s local (in October) that I’ve heard great things about!

      • I was thinking of VA Beach too! It looks so fun. But I’m not sure that I’m ready to commit to training yet. Hershey sounds fun! And I’d love to do an October race – maybe Wilson, maybe Philly.

        So many options in this area! I love it.

  3. I’m glad your heart rate issues are mostly figured out! Yay for conversational pace and speedwork!

  4. That’s great that things are working out so well for you, running-wise. I’m totally jealous, I wish I could feel the same way!

  5. amy

    So glad you got out to try the group workout! Congrats on a great week!

  6. Good lucky with your 1/2 marathon training plan!

Leave a Reply

