Warrior Dash Maryland Recap

Yesterday, Suze & I took a trip out to Maryland for Warrior Dash.  We put together costumes on Saturday (pictures coming soon) and couldn’t wait to show them off.    Expecting tons of mud we brought waterproof disposable cameras so we don’t have any pictures yet, except for the one we took with my cell phone after we got hosed down at the end of the race:

After being hosed down. Costume and mud pictures were taken with a disposable camera and we should them them tomorrow.

So our wave was at 1:00 pm and we showed up at around noon to pick up our bibs, shirts, and helmets.  Everything was pretty well organized, it was really easy to find where we were supposed to be.

We took off with the 1:00 pm group and it was so muddy. I feel like the mud got more intense with each wave that ran through and by the time we went, after the course was open the entire day before and the entire morning, it was really hard to run.  I’m not sure how people were getting through the mud pits so quickly! My Warrior Dash turned into a bit of a Warrior Stroll in effort to keep my shoes (we saw a poor girl lose both shoes in the mud and finish the course barefoot!).  I’m also pretty sure there was more than mud going on out there.  The mud was just so slimy and slippery.  And kind of stinky.

Suze was a real champ and she hit every obstacle.  I definitely skipped an early one that I thought would be dangerous with my shoes – there was more mud than foot inside.  We definitely took pictures of each obstacle, some looked as bad as they did on the website and some looked pretty different.  The bales of hay were pretty much worn down by the time we got to them.  And the “petrifying plunge” was more like a slide than plunge, but it was my favorite part (though it was the obstacle that caused the most cuts and bruises – I hope the official photographers got a picture of us during this because we got totally tangled up and ended at the bottom with my legs wrapped around Suze’s waist.  It was hysterical and I’m not at all sure how it happened!).  We made it through the rest of the obstacles pretty easily (though I overjumped the first fire pit and had to go around the second one because I was too close to get a running start.  At the very end, before we hopped into the Muddy Mayhem two girls offered us some beer and took our cameras to get pictures of us as we finished.  It was awesome. We emerged for the pit completely covered in mud.  Our costumes were trashed and it was great.

Looking at the website, there were 3 obstacle that were missing (no Road Rage, Deadweight Drifter or Cliffhanger. Boo!) which kind of stinks but we didn’t notice it at the time.

We didn’t stick around much after the race.  Neither of us were in the mood for a turkey leg 🙂  It was definitely a good time but if I decide to do it again I’m going to sign up for an early wave on the first day to make sure the course isn’t torn up by the time I get to run.

Have you ever done a Warrior Dash or mud run? What did you think of it?

10 Comments

Filed under exercise

10 responses to “Warrior Dash Maryland Recap

  1. Ahh! That sounds like so much fun…I cannot wait to see the pictures!

  2. Warrior dash sounds like so much fun! I can’t wait to see the muddy pics!

  3. Sounds like a blast. i am doing one at the end of July in Michigan. I am in a 4pm wave and didn’t even think of what the mud would be like later in the day. I will have to go better prepared now.

  4. weeee – these always sound like so much fun, although right now I’m thinking it was cold?? and ew, stinky mud 😉

    can’t wait to see the photos!

  5. Sounds crazy… although I’m totally not a mud person lol!

  6. That sounds fun! I can’t wait to see your pictures!

  7. I heart you! Such a good time! Can’t wait for the “super slide/petrifying plunge” photos!!! 😀

  8. Pingback: Running and Breathing… at the Same Time | CarlyBananas

  9. Lee

    I did one three weeks ago and I had a total blast. i was in the 3pm heat so it was super muddy!

Leave a Reply

