When Weekend Race Plans are Determined by the Government

Right after I started this blog, I signed up for the George Washington Parkway Classic.  For the last 4 months I’ve been super excited about this race.  When I was injured in February, I adjusted my time goal just to guarantee I’d still have an amazing time though tacking 12 minutes onto my expected finish time kind of stunk. Now that the race is 3 days away  and the weather forecast is absolute perfection:

 

Ok, maybe it's actually closer to "warm" than "perfection" but I'll take it after freezing my butt off volunteering at the Cherry Blossom 10 Miler last week!

I’m stuck in limbo, waiting to hear if the looming government shutdown will push back the race.  If you’re wondering how the race is impacted by this situation (because I know I was), the race is run on the George Washington Parkway, which is a road maintained by the federal National Park Service.  The National Park Service would be closed in the event of a government shut down.

Pacers has been working hard to come up with a way for the race to go on as scheduled and has also come up with an alternate race date of May 1.  I know I’ll get to run this race, but the uncertainty is driving me nuts.

Dear Race Directors, This is exactly how you communicate with runners!

I always want to plan, so I came up with two scenarios of how I’ll handle this weekend.

  1. Run the Crystal City 5K Friday slowly and focus on making sure I run as close to 3.1 miles as possible, cutting out the extra distance I ran last week.  Run the Parkway Classic on Sunday.
  2. Race the Crystal City 5K Friday and try to PR 2 weeks in a row.  Do a slow long run on Sunday and keep on training for the Parkway Classic.

At least I have options.  I just hate that I have no control over them.  Either way, I’m so ready for this weekend.

7 Comments

Filed under exercise

7 responses to “When Weekend Race Plans are Determined by the Government

  1. The uncertainty is the worst. Good luck in your race this weekend, whichever it is that you do 🙂

  2. amy

    I’m pretty sure the government has never heard of taper madness, otherwise they’d have figured this thing out already!

    Good luck this weekend!

  3. This is so much fail. Although I will actually be happy if it gets postponed because then I could actually run it. I’ll be cheering again at the 5K, say hi!!

  4. Well, I heard it’s ON!! Good luck!

  5. Have an awesomeeeee race:)

  6. Pingback: Crystal Run 5K Friday: Week 2 –The Rain Storm | CarlyBananas

Leave a Reply

