Heart Rate Update & Why It’s Important to Listen to Your Body

A few weeks ago I wrote a post about monitoring my heart rate while running and how I learned that my heart rate was really high.

I was pretty worried due to my family history of heart disease so I made an appointment with a cardiologist to get things checked out.  She performed an EKG and things looked good, aside from the rapid rate.  She thought everything would check out fine but recommended a stress echo to see how my heart looked before exercise, during exercise and right after.

Yesterday I did the stress echo and all came back good with my heart – except for the fact that my resting heart rate is really high (like 110-115 beats per minute). The doctor decided that since it wasn’t causing me to feel faint or pass out that we should let it be unless my blood work came back with something that needed to be treated.    I was both happy and frustrated by this.  I don’t like when there’s not an explanation for things.  “Some people just have a high heart rate” isn’t enough for me when I have so many relatives with heart problems.  I was still really upset and stressed about it last night.

But this morning, I got a call back from the doctor with my blood work results. It turns out that my high resting heart rate can be explained by my apparently very overactive thyroid.  I’ve been googling it and it turns out it makes quite a bit of sense:

Symptoms (source)

  • Difficulty concentrating
  • Fatigue
  • Heat intolerance
  • Increased appetite
  • Increased sweating
  • Nervousness
  • Restlessness
  • Weight loss (rarely, weight gain)

Other symptoms that can occur:

  • Weakness
  • Itching – overall
  • Nausea and vomiting
  • Pounding, rapid, or irregular pulse
  • Rapid, forceful, or irregular heartbeat (palpitations)
  • Skin blushing or flushing
  • Sleeping difficulty

I pretty much have all of these symptoms.  While I know this will be a pain to get straightened out at first, I know this will help with a whole bunch of other things that I’ve been treating separately (like random nausea, sleeping problems, etc.) and that’s kind of a relief.  Plus I felt a little crazy when the doctor said there was nothing wrong with my heart but I knew it was feeling funny.

Anyway, the point of this whole post is listen to your bodies.  If something feels weird, get it checked out.  And if you don’t like what the doctor tells you – find another.  It’s always better to deal with little things before they become big things.  And check out Carrie’s post at MovesNMunchies has a great post today called If Bodies Could Talk, that focuses on listening to your body about food an exercise. It’s important stuff 🙂

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “Heart Rate Update & Why It’s Important to Listen to Your Body

  1. I’m glad you got that figured out. That is defintiely scary to not know why you have all those random symptoms!

  2. ahh im so glad you got that sorted out! those symptoms sound HORRIBLE!! thank you for the shoutout! this post perfectly applies to listening to our bodies!

  3. Sad to hear you have thyroid issues – but super happy to hear it’s not a heart issue!! Hope you get everything under control soon so you’re back to your normal routine!

    • Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

      Thanks! I think my normal routine will stay pretty much the same. The doctors said there’s no reason to stop exercising while we work on it – as long as I don’t push myself to the point where I pass out, which I wasn’t planning to do 🙂 Hopefully treating the thyroid will slow my heart rate down a bit and help the running as time goes on.

  4. I’m so glad you go answers, but not that you have to now deal with an overactive thyroid. Hopefully it won’t derail your running plans! I’m thinking of getting my HR checked too. Mine skyrockets during my slow runs even.

    • Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

      I think it will help my running in the long term because it should really alleviate the racing heart and palpitations I’ve been having. I’d recommend having it checked out if it’s something that bothers you. I’d been treating the difficulty breathing as an allergy problem for years but it turns out my heart was beating too fast to give me enough oxygen. Now that I’ve figured out where the fast heart rate is coming from I can hopefully stop treating all the individual little problems, which will be nice. The only thing that’s a pain is fasting before all of the bloodwork. I lovvvveeeee to eat. 😛

  5. Oh wow, glad you are starting to figure things out! It is always nice to know your feelings about your body were correct and that you don’t have WebMD syndrome!

  6. Pingback: Goodbye March, I’m ready for April | CarlyBananas

  7. My wife takes medication to regulate her thyroid and having the right dosage makes a huge difference in how she feels. Its one of those things she’ll forget about, even though she takes the meds every day, and sometimes she’ll feel “off” for a couple days and go to the doctor to find out she needs a slight change. She also went through changes when she went through 2 pregnancies. Its a very manageable thing, but like you said, you have to listen to what your body is telling you.

  8. Joy

    I am really glad that you have some answers but I have to add the DO NOT GOOGLE! This is my worst downfall always!

  9. Pingback: April Wrap Up | CarlyBananas

  10. Pingback: Happy 1 Year Running Anniversary to Me! | CarlyBananas

  11. Pingback: My 7 Links | CarlyBananas

Leave a Reply

