Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood

It was a gorgeous day in Arlington today,  55 degrees, sunny, breezy.  I was excited to head out for my longest run since January.

IMG_0614

Please excuse my horrible posture!

I decided to head south on the Mount Vernon trail and run past National Airport along the water.  I ran down to Daingerfield Island, where all of the sailboats are docked.

03202011 MV Trail Daingerfield

Only 12 miles away from Mount Vernon, the start of the George Washington Parkway 10 Miler.

03202011 MV Trail Marina

Everything is so green as spring is spring-ing!

03202011 MV Trail

Mid-run photo shoot!

This run was tough.  I have been doing all of my weekly runs between Pentagon City and Crystal City, which is extremely flat.  Completely and totally pancake flat. The little rolling hills I came across zapped my energy so quickly.

Thankfully, it was a beautiful day and I was able to take things really slowly and enjoy my time outside.  I brought my Camelback Mini Mule (yes, I run with a kids’ sized hydration pack! It has the same 50 oz. water reservoir as the women’s pack but the fit is so light and it has pretty big pockets. I’m in love with it!) and some vanilla Gu to stay hydrated and energized.

I’m really happy that I got the miles in on such a nice day.  I’m thrilled that spring is here – aside from the fact that I sneezed about a thousand times today and used my blue shirt as a tissue more often than I’d like to admit.  I can’t wait for the National Half Marathon Relay next weekend. Bring it spring! I’m ready for you!

16 Comments

Filed under exercise

16 responses to “Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood

  1. The camelbak, GREAT idea to get the kid sizes.. I just might look into that.. and it’s pink, I love love love pink stuff.
    Glad you enjoyed a great day!

    • Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

      I didn’t realize it was a kid’s size until after I got it home and was looking for a link to show a friend. The great thing about kids’ products is they’re cheaper! 🙂

  2. Using a kid’s Camelbak is a great idea!! Can’t wait to meet you on Friday and run on Saturday!

  3. Those small rollers at the bottom of the Mt Vernon trail are killer! Nice run!

    • Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

      So brutal. I really liked the area around the marina. I might drive down there next Saturday morning and take out a few miles farther south, where there are still some hills but not quite as many!

  4. amy

    Yay, you went for the shorts!

  5. AWESOME run!! and i love your camelback!

    • Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

      I am so lucky to have such great running trails so close to home! And I can’t recommend the Camelbak higlighly enough! It’s so lightweight! I can’t wait to get some good use out of it this summer – I’ve heard packing it with some ice is really helpful in staying cool. 🙂

  6. Glad things are going well for your running! Good luck next weekend!

  7. congrats on some great miles!

  8. I want nice weather! I’m craving a run outside! I haaaaaate hills-pancake flat sounds great to me!

  9. Pingback: Goodbye March, I’m ready for April | CarlyBananas

Leave a Reply

