Racing through Spring

I’ve been looking at my spring race calendar and wow, it’s really busy!  I am so excited for the warmer weather and plan to be taking full advantage of it.

I haven’t talked about it much but I’ll be running the National Half Marathon Relay next Saturday with some awesome bloggers. I’m on a team with Amanda and Joy.  We’re running with a second team that includes  Sana, Susannah and Joanna.  I am so excited to get to participate in this race with such great people.

I'll be running the middle leg - miles 5-10.

The first two miles of my leg are uphill and remaining three miles are downhill (elevation chart). I’m pretty hopeful that I’ll be able to pull off a good time because my adrenaline will be going from the start while I go uphill and I’ll be able to make up a lot of time on the downhill.  Once I hand off to my teammate Joy, who will finish for our team, I think I’ll just jog the last 3.1 miles of the course to the finish instead of taking Metro with a bunch of sweaty runners and tourists.  My training plan for the GW Parkway 10 Miler calls for 8 miles anyway.

Before yesterday, my April was pretty open except for the 10 Miler.  I’d been on the fence about signing up for the Crystal City 5K Series, mostly due to the huge price increase from last year.  The course is pretty much the exact course I run every time I go out for a run around the neighborhood – which is both a pro and a con (I’m familiar with the course and will hopefully be able to set a PR vs. I always run this course for free, why exactly do I want to pay to do it?).

This 5K series runs through my normal running route.

In the end my desire to set a PR, add to my race shirt collection, and knock out 5 of my 2011 Run for the Bling of It Challenge races in a single month won out. Plus the nice folks at Pacers promised not to disappoint!

Check out my races page to see my plans for the rest of 2011.

What are your spring race plans?

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “Racing through Spring

  1. The Crystal City races are usually a lot of fun. I think I’ll be there for most of them just cheering and hanging out!

    • Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

      I’m not going to lie, the other factor in deciding to run is the new Chick-Fil-A across the street from the start/finish 🙂

  2. I’ll be running all of the same races as you! Is there really a shirt for the Friday 5K races this time? Maybe that’s why it costs more than previous years… I always wished there was a shirt, at least for those who ran all five!

    • Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

      Awesome!
      Yep, there’s a shirt! I picked a size when I registered – though I’m not sure if the option pops up if you register one at a time. And I think Crystal City is charging more to close the streets this year, which is kind of crappy but I can’t blame them too much since it’s a pretty busy street.

  3. Liz

    I’d like to do one of the Crystal City races because I read about them on everyone’s blogs last year.

    • Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

      I actually did two of them last year, but don’t really count them as racing since I walked 90% of the time. They’re what made me want to start to run 🙂 They’re a fun race. Nice and flat. Plus now there’s a Chick-Fil-A across the street from the start/finish 😉

  4. I totally need to move to DC already and come race with you guys again!

    Also – “Sana, Susanna, Joanna” is really fun to say. 🙂

  5. wow! you have got some great races ahead of you! ive got a 10k in july and a 1/2 marathon in oct.. i know its far away but thats saying a lot as i have onlyl really just started running – i cant only go about 5 miles comfortably!

    • Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

      I’m also a pretty new runner. I’m pretty terrified of the 10 miler I have coming up, but at the same time I don’t really know what to expect so I’m sure it won’t be that bad but definitely not comfortable.

  6. amy

    I’m doing the national half also. See you out there!

  7. Pingback: Goodbye March, I’m ready for April | CarlyBananas

Leave a Reply

