A Woman Without a Plan

I love to plan. I love to do lists. Making training plans for races makes me giddy. But lately my to do list has looked more like this:

empty to-do list

Empty and boring

Thanks to my recent IT band problems my training plan has been collecting some serious dust.  This has left me so bummed and kind of weepy.

So this weekend I put together a new plan.  Since I’m working in a six week time frame (can you believe April 10th is 6 weeks away?!) my goals obviously have to be adjusted or else I’ll end up hurt again.  I’m trying to keep this from adding more “bummed and weepy” to my life but tacking 10-12 minutes onto my expected finish time is a little hard to swallow (though totally expected when I was only able to run 5.5 miles in the month of February).

Looking back, when I registered for the GW Parkway Classic I said “I really want my training for this race to be fun and I don’t want to get hung up on making sure I cover every single mile” and I’m trying to stand by that.  The race is on a gorgeous course and running a little slower will give me more time to enjoy it.  No matter what I do to prepare in the next six weeks, I’ll feel like I could have done more but at least I know I’ll be there enjoying my first 10 miler.  There will be more, I’m sure of that. 🙂

9 Comments

Filed under exercise

9 responses to “A Woman Without a Plan

  1. amy

    You have such a good perspective on this! I think adjusting goals is one of the hardest things to do so even the fact that you can talk about doing that is impressive!

    • Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

      Aw thank you! I feel like such a quitter abandoning my original plan even though I know it’s the smarter choice. Thanks for the introduction to pool running. At least I can make up some of the miles I’m missing on the ground 🙂

  2. I agree! I love how you’ve adjusted your goals and expectations. If this were me, I’d be weeping into a box of Girl Scout thin mints. Which, coincidentally, is what I’m doing right now. Go you! 🙂

    • Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

      Oh there have been a lot of GS cookies haha! This was the perfect time of year to end up with 6 boxes of cookies in my house 🙂

  3. think of the silver lining! (1) rehabbing right means you’ll get to run for the rest of your life, instead of doing everything right now; and (2) you’ll get a PR no matter HOW slowly you run the GW so enjoy the thing!! (it’ll also make your second 10 miler a PR as well – which is *always* fun!)

  4. Yep, uh-huh, I know this feeling too well! It’s so difficult to have a plan or a focus while in limbo(injured). Adjusting your attitude about the race is very very good. Enjoy the beautiful course and proceed with caution!

  5. Pingback: When Weekend Race Plans are Determined by the Government | CarlyBananas

Leave a Reply

