1 Mile Just Rocked My World

This is the face of someone who just ran a mile for the first time since January 30th!

IMG_0603

I took it super slow on the first half, stopped and stretched and ran the second half pretty quickly – much faster than I was planning on.

Split 1: .50 @ 5:42
Split 2: .50 @ 5:06
Total: 1 mile: 10:48

My knee feels good. I stretched and foam rolled and I’m about to ice, just in case.  My only problem was breathing.  Honestly, after 2 and a half weeks off I wasn’t expecting to get such an epic side stitch. Note to self: remember to breathe when running.

Saturday I’ll try to go back out and do a “long run” of 1.5 miles.  Do you have weekend work out plans? I hope everyone enjoys this awesome early spring!

17 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

17 responses to “1 Mile Just Rocked My World

  1. SuzyQ

    Congrats! I’m super duper happy for you and super duper glad that everything feels as it should! I’m running at least 5 miles on Saturday (I hope!). ❤

  2. That’s great! What a nice day for a run outside, too!

  3. That is SO exciting! Enjoy your extra half mile this weekend 🙂

  4. Congrats! Glad everything is looking up!

  5. So glad your first run back went well! And good for you for sticking with the cut-back…it’s always SO tempting to jump right back in as soon as you start feeling better, even though the Dr. says no to!

    I have a group long run planned for tomorrow morning – then Disney World to meet up with an old friend from college (it’s been 10 years since I’ve seen him!)

    • Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

      It’s so tempting to jump back into my training for the 10 miler but I know I still need to take it slowly for a bit longer.
      I’m so jealous of your trip to Disney tomorrow. I know I’ve already told you that on Twitter, but I keep thinking of how awesome it is would be to see Tinkerbell up close! Have you been to the new Harry Potter park yet?

  6. Side stitches will be the end of me, I swear! Great job, I’m hoping to do as well when I hop on the treadmill after work, I’m still to much of a wimp to run outside, even during our “warm snap” here in Michigan. Sorry, but 38 is still cold 🙂

  7. Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

    38 degrees is cold!! I can’t imagine that as a warm snap!

  8. lizard151

    Congratulations! I too will be running slowly but surely for minimal distances this weekend. We’ll get there eventually 😉

  9. amy

    Awesome! I love progress, even when it comes in .5 mile increments 🙂

  10. 🙂 I will (hopefully) soon have a similar post, ONE MAGICAL MILE!! Glad it went good for you.

  11. Pingback: Avoiding the Panic Button | CarlyBananas

Leave a Reply

