When Happiness Attacks

Do you ever have one of those mornings where you wake up feeling like this:

or maybe like this:

I did this morning!  I had a great night’s sleep last night.  For the first time in quite awhile I woke up feeling really awake.  When I got out of bed to take the dog out, I realized my knee feels great.  I’ve had a lot of residual achy feelings in my knee since the cortisone shot and as the pressure in my knee lessened up my actual IT band got super tight.  I’ve spent the last week pretty worried that after two weeks I’d be back at the orthopedist.

Last night, I went to the gym for the first time since January 3oth! I did a whopping 17 minutes and 30 seconds on the recumbent bike.  I pedaled in super slow mo, making sure I didn’t push it and irritate my knee. I hardly broke a sweat, which for once is something to be proud of.  I think I burned less than 50 calories but I know it was good to get my knee moving again.

Thankfully, my gym buddy Susannah was there to stretch with me for awhile after I was done (she just rocked a nice 5 miles on the treadmill).  I’m amazed at how much the stretching and strengthening has helped.  Especially this move:

(note to self: be a better blogger and remember to get pictures of yourself next time!)

To be sure I don’t push my limits too fast and re-upset the IT band, I’ve decided to volunteer at Love the Run. I knew if I didn’t stay involved in the race in some way, I’d wake up Sunday and decide to run on a whim since I can see the starting line from my bedroom.  So if you’re running, I’ll be at packet pick up at the Pacers on Pentagon Row on Saturday from 4-6 pm and at the bag drop on Sunday morning.  Come by and say hi or look for me at the finish line cheering for the boyfriend!

The official countdown has started – 7 more days until running resumes!

 

10 Comments

Filed under exercise

10 responses to “When Happiness Attacks

  1. hooray for only 7 more days and already feeling good!

  2. I had one of these days myself the other day, and it was simply marvelous! Glad to hear you’ll be back out there running soon.

    • Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

      Thanks! I’m really excited to get back outside, especially now that I see weather forecasts in the 40’s and 50’s coming up!

  3. Haha, if you feel that good in the morning then just go with it!
    I’ll see you at LTRYW5k on Sunday!

  4. Liz

    That’s great news about your knee! I’ll hopefully see you on Sunday!

  5. Whooo! 7 more days will fly by!

    I have not felt that way when I wake up in a LONG time as my cat has been in the habit of waking me up at 4:30 AM lately. UGH.

    But I do know the feeling and it’s a wonderful one 🙂

  6. Days like these should go down in the books. I love them!

  7. omg, you’re like the best human being ever for having the courage to volunteer! Good for you! Kudos! Major props! 🙂
    Your happy mood came just in time for the weekend! Enjoy!

    • Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

      Thanks! I’m just competitive! The company that puts on these races has a points series. Each race has a point value and as you get points you win stuff. So I can at least get my 2 points for tomorrow even though I’m not running.
      😉

Leave a Reply

