Another Spring Race: Four Courts Four Miler

Well hello there, January 31!  I can’t believe I’m running into you so soon! This month has just flown by.  I have a great January training wrap up post coming tomorrow.  I’m really excited to share my training progress with all five of you everyone.

The winter weather has been keeping me from getting out and enjoying some quality runs.  Even this weekend, when the temperatures were in the 40’s, there was still a ton of ice on the sidewalks in my neighborhood.  I’ve logged a lot of miles on the treadmill, but that’s not very exciting to write about.

I’ve added another local race to my spring schedule (check out my races page for the full list).  The Four Courts Four Miler is a challenging short race followed by a really fun party.

The race description is short and sweet: “Downhill on first half, uphill on second half.  Don’t say we didn’t warn you.”  This is certainly not a PR kind of race, but will definitely be fun because it starts and ends at a bar.  I have been setting the treadmill on a steep hill and speed walking as practice.  Maybe I won’t do so bad!

Blog related updates:

I’ve added a few little changes to CarlyBananas to make it more readable both in a reader and on the site.  If you’re reading on the site, you can now click to subscribe and add the blog to your reader.  I’ve also added an option to connect with me on Twitter and Daily MileIf you have any suggestions for CarlyBananas, please leave a comment!

8 Comments

Filed under exercise, Uncategorized

8 responses to “Another Spring Race: Four Courts Four Miler

  1. Oooh! 4-miler! An automatic PR! Aren’t new race distances the best?

    • Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

      They really are! I’m hoping to get in a lot of different distance this year.
      I have a 5K, a 4 Miler, and 10 Miler and a Half already scheduled. I just need a 5 miler, and 8K and a 10K. I think I can arrange that 🙂

  2. Liz

    That looks like a fun race. I may sign up too!

  3. Ooh, that race is so fun! I mean, fun in a non-PR want to cry running up the hill at the end kind of way. But any race that ends with a pint of Guiness is fun in my book 🙂 See you there!

    • Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

      LOL that is exactly how I was thinking about it. I wonder how much I can be motivated by good beer…hopefully a lot! 🙂

  4. sounds like an fun race – and a great distance!!

    I cannot believe this month is over, either. it’s funny, my post this morning is called “great start” referring to my breakfast, and as I was typing it the morning I saw the date… ha. great ending too, I suppose!

    you’re in my reader!! 😀

  5. Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

    Your breakfast yesterday (and today) look amazing. I really need to try those muffins soon!

Leave a Reply

