What I learned from Studio Yoga

About a month ago, I bought a pass to a small local yoga studio.  Journey Yoga in Arlington lets new students buy 3 classes for $30.  Amazingly, they also offered a Yoga I class at a time that was perfect for my schedule.

At this studio, Yoga I focuses on the basics as a starting point or it can be a place to deepen your existing practice.  I was really relieved to take a class described as a starting point. I am one of the least flexible human beings on the planet (seriously, I’m not exaggerating). My legs are like the world’s tightest rubber bands and my  lines always involve some kind of bent knee.

yoga

I do not look like any of these people when I do yoga and that is ok!

I didn’t really know what to expect in my classes but I planned to give it my all.  I was so excited during my first class when the instructor, Sabrina, immediately said not to worry if you couldn’t fold yourself in half or reach your legs over your head.  She reminded everyone that yoga is about peace and balance and happiness.  If being super flexible was the key to happiness then circus performers would be the happiest people on earth.  Point to Sabrina.

I loved the three classes that I took at Journey. They were relaxing but challenging at the same time.  It’s a small class so the instructor was able to come around and correct your posture – but she did it nicely and quietly so it was very constructive.  Each class left me a little sore, but not out of commission. I quickly saw areas that I needed to work on between classes, like my balance (wow, I don’t have a lot of balance!).

If you’re in Arlington and are looking for a new studio, I really recommend Journey.  They still have the same 3 classes for $30 special for new members and they also have a 4 classes for $50 holiday special going on (you can buy up to 3 of these – totaling 12 classes for $150).  Their normal 5 class package is $90, which is still quite reasonable in this area.  You can purchase and schedule classes online. They have a pretty good variety of different class types.

*This is not a paid or compensated review.  The views expressed in this blog are simply my opinions.

10 Comments

Filed under exercise, Uncategorized

10 responses to “What I learned from Studio Yoga

  1. Sadly I live too far from VA even though I was just there for dinner tonight!

    • Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

      There are a lot of good yoga studio deals on Groupon. I always find ones in MD that are too far for me. 🙂

  2. I’m looking for a good yoga studio close to my home-they are all so far away, and with the snow-forget it!

    • Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

      Winter weather makes getting out to exercise to hard! Even though this studio is 2 miles from my house, I had to miss a class for icy weather. I’m ready for spring!

  3. I “real” yoga class is a must do for me this year – I’ve only ever taken classes at the YMCA…they’re good, but probably not the same. I found a Bikram studio that I’d like to try, but I don’t think I’m ready for the full 90 min session yet.

    Glad you had a good experience!

  4. I have only done yoga at my local gym. I need to get to a real “yoga” class.

  5. What a great sounding class and experience. I’m so not a flexible person either. Wish I was, though!

  6. I was JUST looking at Journey online and thinking of checking it out this week! I am a TOTAL yoga newbie, so I’m glad to hear the positive review!

  7. Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

    I really recommend it! It was an easy decision to try it for $30, especially since you can use the classes whenever (a lot of places looked at offered unlimited classes for a week but that time pressure turned me off. Who knows if you’re going to have a busy work week in advance?).
    I need to get back to it in the next few weeks!

Leave a Reply

