Cross Training with Jillian Michaels

One of my goals for 2011 is to cross train.  Yoga, cycling, and lifting weights will strengthen my muscles, increase my flexibility, and make me a better runner.  I’ve been taking advantage of Fio’s free ExerciseTV on Demand and doing a lot of core and yoga work from home when I am too lazy to don’t have time to go to the gym .

IMG_0585

Ready to do some Yoga Meltdown!

(I have yet to master the art of blogger self portraits)

I always worry that I won’t push myself hard enough when I work out at home so I try to pick videos that look like they’re a little tougher than what I can do comfortably.  Jillian Michaels currently has five free options On-Demand.  She’s an intense trainer, described on her website as “tough-as-nails”, and her workouts are HARD.  I’ve tried the first part of the 30 day shred a few times and earlier this week I tried Yoga Meltdown.  Today, I decided I’d give Yoga Meltdown another try.

JMYoga

Look at those guns!

The DVD description on Amazon:

Jillian Michaels, winning trainer on NBC’s “The Biggest Loser,” introduces a new yoga workout unlike any other. Combining hard-core yoga power poses with her dynamic training techniques, Jillian will get you real weight-loss results fast. YOGA MELTDOWN includes two complete 30-minute workouts that include a warm-up and cooldown. Begin with the Level 1 workout which focuses on quickly flowing yoga sequences to burn mega calories. Then progress to Level 2 which adds twists and balance poses for an even greater burn.

My take: This is a really good but very challenging work out.  Jillian has two girls demonstrating poses, one for beginners and one for more advanced viewers.  If you’re like me and you’re not that familiar with yoga, you’re probably going to need to modify the beginner poses a little further to make the DVD doable.  While the cover of the DVD says it’s a great program for weight loss, I wouldn’t recommend it if you’re lacking in upper body strength. There are some parts of the workout that I simply can’t do but even with these holes, I still feel like I’m getting a serious workout in.

Do you use any at home exercise programs? How do you push yourself when you’re in the comfort of your living room?

14 Comments

Filed under exercise, Uncategorized

14 responses to “Cross Training with Jillian Michaels

  1. laura

    Her No More Trouble Zones is the BEST ever! Sue has it now – you guys should try it! But I warn you – start with 3lb weights. It’s killer!

  2. I do some of the P90X workouts at home. They are killer. I love the plyometrics workout. I am usually sore for days after. It will def improve your running. I also like trying different yoga ones. I have heard a lot about Jillian Michaels. I will eventually try hers.

  3. Love the blog! Once in a while when I can’t stomach walking out into the cold i’ll hit up exercise tv or i’ll do some yoga in the living room…i’ve seen people have amazing results with at home workouts!

  4. I’ve always heard great things about that yoga workout of hers. I always want to give it a try. And I think your self portrait looks great!

    • Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

      Thanks Tina!
      Hopefully it will stay in the free section of On Demand so you can get a chance to use it sometime. 🙂

  5. GREAT goal for 2011!!! What did you do in 2010? I love Jillian Michaels books but haven’t used her DVDs yet.

    • Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

      Thanks Tori!
      I actually took up running in 2010. I really didn’t exercise at all, other than occasional (extremely occasional) light cardio at the gym. It was a big year for me fitness-wise! 🙂

  6. Got to say, I love love love some Jillian Michaels. And YES. I just had the epiphanie about cross-training as well. I’ve been off and on a runner for forever and no coach I ever had pushed cross-training. This is the first time I’ve started running AND cross-training and I’m absolutely hooked. 🙂

    • Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

      It’s crazy how it takes so long for my brain to connect the dots between obvious things. After just one month of regular x training, I’ve noticed a huge improvement in running. I’m loving it 🙂

  7. P.S. Added your adorable blog to my reader. Excited to follow along!

Leave a Reply

