Swagtastic Swag

In late December, I posted about winning some awesome running swag from iRunnerBlog.  The excitement of winning was great motivation to get me out running in the cold weather.

Yesterday, my swag arrived.

Road ID Gift Certificate: I ordered a pink Wrist ID Elite (interactive) and a Firefly Belt. I’m super excited to receive both.  I will feel a lot safer on night runs with both of these.  The nice folks of RoadID also threw in a hat (which also has reflective stripes) and socks.

Two pairs of Ryder Sunglasses (front) VTX and (back) Grindhouse.  Ryders have polarized lenses with a Horizontal Glare Reflective (HRG) filter encased inside the lens to block over 99% of the glare from water, rock, pavement and other reflective surfaces. They also have great anti-slip nose pads.

Last (but not least), a ton of GU was included in Vanilla Gingerbread, Mint Chocolate and Vanilla Bean flavors.  I haven’t ever tried GU, but I’m starting my long runs at the end of January and early February so I’ll be giving it a try soon.

I’m hoping the weather stays snow-free here in DC so I can go out and do my 7 miler on Sunday.

Do you have any big exercise plans for the weekend? How do you ensure safety when running after dark?

7 Comments

Filed under exercise, Uncategorized

7 responses to “Swagtastic Swag

  1. Awesome prize pack! I wear my Road ID every time I run – it’s one that’s permanently on my shoe. I do need to get something for when I cycle though!

    When I run at night I either wear a reflective vest, or red blinking lights. And I carry pepper spray…not sure why that’s a “night only” thing for me though!

    • Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

      I really need to think about having pepper spray. I run through a pretty safe neighborhood but it probably wouldn’t be a bad idea to have it. With my luck I’d accidentally spray myself haha.

      • Ha – I haven’t sprayed myself yet! I should actually do a “test spray” one of these days – I’ve had the same can for like 3 years now. Wonder if it still works?

      • laura

        Be careful with the pepper spray! I was in an apartment where someone “just tried out the pepper spray” in a different room. I had itchy eyes and difficulty breathing for a few days – and I left the apartment like 60 seconds after they sprayed it! It’s NASTY.

  2. Lucky! I never win anything good. At night I tend to run on well lit streets and always let someone know when and where I am going. I probably should take more precautions.

    • Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

      I always run on well lit streets but I do a lot of street crossing. I’m really hoping that some more reflective gear will make me more visible to cars (without making me look like an alien!!).

  3. laura

    Carly – let me know how you like the specs. I’m contemplating buying a pair in the near-ish future (at least before the summer shows up) and want to know whats awesome!

Leave a Reply

