Distance Running in 2011

Yesterday, I took the plunge and signed up for my first half marathon!  I’m so excited for the Rock ‘n’ Roll Virginia Beach Half in September! I know it’s pretty far away, but it sets the tone for the training I want to do in 2011.  Look! A confirmation email!

News flash: My decision to register this early may have been seriously influenced by the free Rock ‘n’ Roll Series Insulated Water Bottle & GU Gel 6-pack you receive if you register before 12/17.  If you’re on the fence about doing any Rock ‘n’ Roll event and are swayed by free stuff, check out their website for races in your area!

To say that I’m a planner is an understatement.  As soon as I decided that I wanted to do VA beach I realized that I wouldn’t want to go into it having a 10K as my longest distance race.  I also can’t really do a half before my first half marathon so I settled on using the George Washington Parkway Classic 1o Miler in April as a quasi-test run.

The GW 10 Miler is local and runs right up the Mount Vernon Trail, which happens to be one of my favorite spots to run.  Most of the race features a gorgeous view of the Potomac river and the race finishes up in beautiful Old Town Alexandria.

I plan to treat the 10 Miler just like a half, mostly because I found a training program that I love on RunKeeper.  I like the program for a few reasons: 1) It’s not overwhelming.  It has two weekday runs in the 3-5 mile category and alternates a day of speedwork and a long run on weekends.  2) It provides a good breakdown explaining why each run is scheduled and how you’re supposed to pace yourself. 3) A goal time of 2:20 is perfect for me based on my 10K times.  If the training goes well for the GW 10 Miler in April, I can decide if I want to recycle the training plan or if I want to up the ante for VA Beach.

Do you have a race schedule for 2011?  Do you pick out your big races early in the year or close to the event?

10 Comments

Filed under exercise, Uncategorized

10 responses to “Distance Running in 2011

  1. How exciting – your first half marathon!!!!

    I always have a couple “big” races lined up to keep me on track with training.

    For 2011 I’m trying to get myself from walk/run intervals to running the 1/2 marathon distance! I’ve done several half mary’s before but always using intervals.

    So I’m signed up for two half mary’s in 2011. The first is in March in Sarasota FL (where I live) and I’ll be doing the run/walk intervals – hopefully running faster during the intervals. Then I’m going to do the Windermere 1/2 Marathon in May up in Spokane, WA! That one my goal is to run the entire time (with short breaks at water stops).

    Can’t wait to hear how your training goes!!!

    • Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

      I also use intervals! I just got a Garmin and found that it was very, very useful in pacing during my 10K. I kind of dropped the intervals (I know, bad idea for race day) after the first one and ended up only taking 2 other 30 second breaks during the race because I was able to keep myself right at an 11:15 pace. I’m excited to see how it goes with my training plan. It is a run/walk plan so hopefully I can build up some speed.
      Good luck with your training too! That’s really exciting that you’re traveling all the way to WA!

  2. Suze

    FYI – the mile nine marker on GW Classic is RIDICULOUS. Like, for serious, a STRAIGHT UP 45 DEGREE ANGLE. And there are some sadists** who stand at the bottom of the hill and ring their cowbells and force you to run up the Hill Of Death. And all you can think while you’re suffering up the hill is “NO MORE COWBELL!” (**Except these people on the hill are actually extremely nice, and very good people for being up so early in the morning to cheer us on… so. Yeah. Grain of salt, on that there comment.)

  3. laura

    My favorite response:
    you: “im running 13.1 in september! i have to train hard for it!”
    them: “oh youre running a half-marathon?”
    you: “no. im running the full 13.1 miles. im not running half of anything”

    😀

  4. Congrats on signing up for your first half marathon!

    I’ve planned some of my 2011 races. I’ve only signed up for a half marathon in March, but I have two 10Ks and a 10 miler in mind too.

  5. Pingback: Training Plan for Rock & Roll Virginia Beach | CarlyBananas

  6. Pingback: Happy 1 Year Running Anniversary to Me! | CarlyBananas

Leave a Reply

