Jingle All The Way 10K

I set up CarlyBananas a few days ago but decided to wait until I had something exciting to write about before going live.  This morning, in the icky cold wintery rain, I ran the Jingle All The Way 10K with my boyfriend and awesome friend Suze.Jingle All The Way

The race was an out and back on Ohio Drive around Hains Point, smack in the middle of the Potomac River.  On a nicer day, this is a beautiful route.  Today it was so foggy and rainy that you couldn’t see across the water and the race course was covered in puddles.  But the crazy running crowd braved the elements with bells on (literally – all runners got little jingle bells attached to twisty ties at packet pick-up.  We had ours attached to our shoelaces, ponytails and hats!) and more than 4,000 runners came out.

Unfortunately, we really underestimated the crowds and really had a hard time parking.  We ended up parking all the way out at 18th & E and had  a 20 minute walk to the start line which was  across a very muddy football field at East Potomac Park.  As we were crossing the mud pit we saw the crowd start to move so we just hopped in and started running without really stretching, which probably wasn’t the smartest idea in 40 degree weather.

Despite the weather and the crowds I ran a very consistent race and I’m quite proud of it.  I missed my Rockville 10K PR time by 16 seconds, which would normally make me a little sad but today I held a really steady pace for 6.2 miles – something I normally have a very hard time with (at Rockville my time per mile steadily went up by about 30 seconds each mile).

Splits:

Mile: Time:
1 11:14
2 11:22
3 11:25
4 11:11
5 11:20
6 10:53
Final .27 2:37 (9:43 pace)
Total: 6.27 1:10:02

I wish I could take all the credit for my awesome pacing today was my first run with my awesome new Garmin 305 (I named him Artie) and it was so unbelievably helpful.

IMG_0501

I think it will be tremendously useful as I continue my running journey.

I’ll leave you all with a picture of the worlds more horrible race shirt. It looks a little bit like the Jamaican flag threw up and out of the mess came two runners that vaguely resemble the ninja turtles.

IMG_0499

IMG_0500



Please excuse the bed head, there’s been a lot of napping here this afternoon!

Do you have any horrible race shirts? What do you do with them?

9 Comments

Filed under exercise, Uncategorized

9 responses to “Jingle All The Way 10K

  1. Suze

    Carly – awesome recap. You forgot to mention the loooong walk back to the car wherein your legs cramped up, your BF decided it was indescribably cold, and I practically fell asleep standing up. 🙂

    Also, I love that you named your Garmin Artie.

    I do agree that this is one of the ugliest race shirts ever. But, did I tell you that I saw some race shirts from years past on the course? There was one where Santa’s beard was pasted to the front of the shirt like a bib. That one was particularly hideous.

    xoxo, Suze

    • Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

      Artie is my magic comb for pacing!
      I’m glad our shirt didn’t have Santa’s beard on it. I’m excited to see next year’s shirt, but I think the race is cut from the 2011 schedule due to lack of water at the water stops. I probably should have remembered to add that to my recap but I was just so excited about the pacing 🙂

  2. nice recap! 🙂 I love that your Garmin is Artie…

    I am recovering from two BIG injuries and need motivation (I used to be a runner, and I’m re-starting SLOW), so I’ve added your blog to my reader as motivation! 😀

    I don’t have any really ugly race shirts… but maybe you could make a pillow out of that? it’d be a fun reminder!

    • Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

      Thanks! I hope your injury recovery is going well! I think slow is definitely the way to go with running – but I’m slow without any injury LOL. I’ve been using “You don’t have to be the best to have fun!” as my mantra while I get passed left and right. 😉
      I love the pillow idea. I have a few unattractive shirts at home that may need to be combined into something fun.

      P.S. Thanks for being my first non-obligatory comment! Really, it just made my whole day to see that someone other than Suze read this!

  3. I just found your blog from a comment on another blog. I am originally from Rockville! And I have a lot of hideous race tshirts.

  4. Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

    Yay Rockville! I lived in Silver Spring for awhile before moving across to Arlington 🙂

  5. Great race recap!
    I usually use my horrid race shirts as rags or as a throw away shirt during a longer race! Get that thing outta here! You’re shirt? I might hang onto that one for a few laughs. 🙂

  6. Carly D. @ CarlyBananas

    Thanks!
    I cleaned out my closet after the holidays and I couldn’t bring myself to give the shirt to Good Will. It’s just too funny to have around. 🙂

  7. Pingback: Happy 1 Year Running Anniversary to Me! | CarlyBananas

Leave a Reply

